Clustering

Loss of A Loved one

Strength
Shocking

Struggle

Comfort

Self

Tragic

Family

Poor Health care

Siblings
Sad
Mom
Dad

Africa
Confused

Scratch Outline

Effects of losing a loved one
– Causes one to appreciate the people they have
– Makes one very careful and hopeful for the best since the unexpected is always bound to happen
– Makes one stronger
Dad’s tragic death
– Created a major shock in the family
– Affected mom the most since dad was always the main provider
– Reveals, to an extent, the poor level of healthcare in Africa
How the loss of father affected me
– Now I do not have a father figure, all I have is mum
– All responsibilities are now geared towards mother
– The death has brought the family closer and made us stronger

Something I Have Experienced

The thought of losing a loved one may seem to be an issue one could think the least about until the unexpected happens. It was a hot African summer, usually; my siblings and I take summer classes because my father was strict when it came to education, but not this specific summer. During the summer of 2002, my father decided to drop us off at my aunt’s house since he had to travel and mother was already abroad. At first, I thought it was unusual because father never made such decisions but I pushed the thought under the rug and became very happy to spend the summer with my aunt. The following week, father dropped us off at a town where my aunt lived, said his goodbye, and that was the last time I saw my father alive.
I remember calling my dad on his phone the day he told us he will arrive in the country and he never answered. Then I began to get worried, but yet again my thought was that “it’s dad, nothing can happen to him”, and threw the thought away. Upon returning home, I saw mum, and my father’s family all dressed in black, the color worn in Africa to represent mourning. I ignored that fact and was so excited to see mum. Then, an uncle called us into the guest room because he said he wanted to tell us something. That’s when it hit me that the event I did not expect the most, has finally happened to me. My uncle told us father died during his trip. At first, I was in denial and stayed in denial for a long time until I really did not see dad. When events like a loss occurs, it affects the way one views life and can change an individual completely. Till this day, I get scared when it comes to the idea of me or anyone in my family traveling. I’m aware death can meet someone anywhere and at anytime but for some reason traveling scares me the most.